Darjeeling Tea (Second Flush)

10 Feb

I started enjoying drinking English tea about 2 years ago when I learned about tea in cafe business class.

The history of English tea and the kinds of tea leaves were interesting to know.

Since my family prefers coffee and my house had so many stocks of English tea that we got from someone or we bought somewhere, I started drinking them one by one comparing the taste. I was shocked to see some of the very rare and high quality leaves, which perhaps my dad got from someone, sitting there without opened until it was expired way long time ago. I still opened and tasted them but the scent was mostly gone…

Ideally, both coffee and tea should be consumed within a month after brewed(coffee) or opened(tea), however, I think it’s difficult to do so especially for tea.

Anyway, this is Darjeeling tea I got recently at my favorite tea shop in Japan.

This is the shop Tea salon G-clef. I’ll talk about this shop later.

Darjeeling tea has 3 seasons; First flush for spring (Mar.~Apr.), Second flush for summer (May~Jun.) and Autumnal for autumn (Sep.~Nov.). First flush picked up during spring is a young bud and tastes very light and fresh almost like greentea. The production is limited and is valuable. Second flush has the rich tea taste and is called “champaigne of tea” or “muscatel flavor”. At last, autumnal has darker and bitter tea taste.

Although I might still prefer coffee, I came to appreciate tea as much as coffee. English tea is more of a social drink than coffee and can take time to drink, so it’s more relaxing and is good to drink while chatting with your friends. You can choose which to drink depends on the situation!

2 Responses to “Darjeeling Tea (Second Flush)”

  1. Kathia November 17, 2011 at 6:45 am #

    I’m so happy to find a tea section on your blog. I love tea and it is often so overlooked in cafes in KL and even in Singapore. There is instead so much buzz about coffee everywhere. It is very disappointing when I walk into a good cafe, find that they make good coffee but their tea comes out of a sad dusty box. It ruins the cafe experience.

    What are some of your favourite teas?

    Last year, I discovered an Australian brand, T2 http://t2tea.com/. They do a huge array of teas and even came up with breakfast tea inspired by Australian cities. I find their city inspirations spot on. My favourite is Melbourne Breakfast. Ben’s Grocer’s in Bangsar Village 1 carries the brand but not these breakfast teas. I don’t think they identify the flush for their teas but are more focused on flavours. But I definitely can taste a difference in the quality of tea.

    Looking forward to reading more tea posts and will try to visit your shop when I am back in the Klang Valley.

    • caramelmoko November 19, 2011 at 10:03 am #

      Hi Kathia, thanks for your comment. It’s great to know that there are people like you who can share our ‘tea stories’! I know- coffee is picking up in Malaysia, but tea is still served in a tea bags… even in some higher-end cafes. Honestly, even for coffee, people seem to care about latte art or espresso machines… but my personal preference is the handdripped coffee because it gives you the most aroma. In Japan this is the most appreciated way of drinking coffee.

      Anyway, as for teas, I like the selection of Marige Frere of course (but its a bit too pricey), and Tea Palace from UK is one of my favorites too. I generally don’t drink flavoured tea but their flavoured teas are very nice, especially I love their Apricot Dream.

      Oh yes, I have seen the brand u mentioned T2 somewhere (perhaps in Ben’s) but have never tried before. I shall check that out, ya? Yes, Ben’s Grocer’s and O’gourmet in Bangsar Shopping Complex carries some selection of imported tea leaves. And do you know the shop in the Curve (1st Floor) that sells some coffee beans and teas (like TWG)? They have some interesting selection, I thought. But I normally bring back tea leaves from Japan or other places so didn’t have chance to explore the selection here in Malaysia. I shall check out more.

      In any case, these days you can buy those tea leaves online (just like Tea Palace), so if you have a chance to get some, please tell me how you felt! I also have lots of Sri Lanka Teas at home, so want to write about them soon… Thanks!

Leave a Reply

