Happy Valentine’s day!

14 Feb

Did you know that in Japan, Valentine’s day is for men? This is the day that men get chocolates or chocolate flavored sweets from women! I guess this is a strategy of Japanese chocolate venders because women like shopping much more than men… smart.

So this is kind of a big event in Japan and every woman will give chocolates to the person she cares for including her own father. Even the elementary kids do this. Although I myself was too shy to give chocolates to anyone but my father!

There are 2 types of chocolates, Honmei and Giri chocolate. “Honmei” is the important one; expensive chocolates for the guy you have a crush on (blush), your boyfriend or your husband. “Giri” is just for those like your boss, your colleagues and your normal guy friends. So even if you don’t have a girlfriend, at the very least most guys will get Giri chocolate from their colleagues and friends!

Everyone has bitter and sweet memories I’m sure…



So following Japanese customs, on Valentine’s day this year I baked 2 types of chocolate cake for my husband.

One is rich in cocoa and is more like a sponge cake, the other rich in chocolate and is thick taste.


Of course this was my Honmei!

5 Responses to “Happy Valentine’s day!”

  1. luminist fresh lotus eye gel reviews May 20, 2014 at 10:41 am #

    Hi colleagues, pleasant article and pleasant urging commented at this place, I am
    genuinely enjoying by these.

  2. professional skin care for men August 7, 2014 at 4:12 pm #

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you will be a
    great author. I will remember to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back in the foreseeable future.

    I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great job, have a nice afternoon!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Valentine’s Special Lesson! « caramel factory - February 6, 2012

    […] I talked in my earlier post, (Wow, I just realized that I’ve been writing this blog for more than a year…) in Japan […]

  2. Valentine Special Class! « caramel factory - January 12, 2013

    […] Day is coming soon! As I wrote in my earlier post, in Japan, this is a special day when ladies buy chocolates for men! It’s an exciting day for […]

Leave a Reply

