Luwak Coffee

9 Apr

The other day my mother gave me a rare coffee bean called Luwak coffee.

Have you ever heard of this coffee bean?

It’s actually a coffee bean made from the beans eaten and digested by Asian Palm Civet, some kind of cats that exist in Indonesia. It is considered to be the most expensive and low produced coffee beans in the world.

When I first heard of this coffee bean, I was a bit disgusted thinking that it will look like a cat shit. But it actually looked like a normal coffee bean and smelled good. The beans were relatively small and hard, and it was arrabica kind.

The taste was… hmm… very sourish for me. Tasted better and milder with some milk.

But it was a good experience for me.

6 Responses to “Luwak Coffee”

  1. Red Velvet Honey July 26, 2012 at 4:04 am #

    HinTomoko…just saw your coffee sectiom…just want to let you know that the muslims are forbidden to take luwak coffee because of how it came about.

    Just to caution you inncase you decide to serve coffee to guests or students..

    Rgds
    Eliza

    • caramelmoko July 26, 2012 at 11:22 am #

      Hi Eliza,

      Thanks for your message! I didn’t know that but don’t worry – Luwak is so expensive that I only have limited amount for myself. Anyways, thanks for letting me know.

      Tomoko

  2. Khor Hui Min November 19, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    When I went to Bali for my honeymoon in June 2012, I discovered luwak coffee. So, I bought a small pack out of curiosity. It was many times more expensive that the average coffee powder sold there. I read that Indonesians like to grind their coffee to a fine powder. Then add hot water and sugar. Wait for the coffee powder to sink to the bottom before drinking (^.^). So, that’s what I did. I also heard that Javanese coffee might have a “muddy” sort of flavour, and it’s true. Perhaps it is because the coffee is ground until such a fine powder that we end up drinking the powder too.

    For regular ground coffee beans, I usually use a french press (makes 1 cup). A friend also gave me a coffee maker as a wedding present. It has a reusable sieve, which is quite handy (makes 1-2 cups).

    • caramelmoko November 20, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

      Hi Hui Min,
      You like to drink coffee? Interesting message! I see… I didn’t know that’s how they drink coffee, but I guess it’s similar to Vietnam coffee. If you drink like that, I think it tastes slightly muddy and not so refined, cuz you are drinking the powder too, like you say.
      I like to hand-drip coffee but French press is good too. Maybe I’ll make you my hand-dripped coffee in one of the classes ^^.

      • khorhmin April 1, 2013 at 12:19 am #

        Oh, no need to go through the trouble of making coffee. Your tea is great. I saw many brands of paper filters for coffee at Daiso.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I love coffee! « caramel factory - September 27, 2012

    […] Coffee. It is getting more popular and you might have seen this coffee beans somewhere. As in my earlier post, this coffee beans are roasted from the beans once eaten and digested by the Indonesian cat Asian […]

Leave a Reply

