Fruits Roll cake – February Basic A Class

2 Feb

Sometimes I get surprised by how things are called differently in other countries. Say, souffle cheesecake is called Japanese cheesecake in Malaysia (and like I wrote in my earlier post, I did not know that this type of cheesecake was originally from Japan until I come here), and roll cake is called Swiss roll in many countries including Malaysia.

In Japan, the word Swiss roll does not exist. For us, this is not a Swiss roll but it is a roll cake. I had to google why this roll cake was called Swiss roll when I found it out recently, but even in wikipedia it says that the origin of this term is unclear.

So anyway, the word Swiss roll sounds very funny to me, so I want to call this a fruits roll cake. Or shall I call it a Japanese souffle roll cake!?

We will bake this roll cake in February Basic A class. Each of you will make a 13″ x 13″ (33cm) Jumbo size roll cake, and will wrap them beautifully with fresh cream and fruits.

Don’t be surprised? About 7 eggs are used in this one roll cake!

今月の基礎Aクラスは、もっちり食感がたまらなく美味しいスフレロール生地です。

通常の共立て・別立て法とはまた違った面白い手法の生地作りをお学びいただきます。 ロールに使用する卵はなんとお一人6~7個!各自直径33cmのジャンボサイズのロールケーキをお作りいただきます。 韓国産の甘いいちご、他フルーツをたっぷりと詰め、美しいロールケーキに仕上げましょう。

Can you feel the silky texture?

This roll cake has a very unique texture. It’s a souffle type of cake and the texture is more silky, dense and mochi mochi… You will know what I mean when you taste this cake!

Another menu for February Basic A is Madeleine, a traditional French petit cake. It’s a shell shaped butter cake with a hint of lemon flavor. I used to bake hundreds and thousands of this cake during my 6-year-high school period, for school festival, so this cake has a special memory to me.

I will teach you this cake with exact same recipe that I’ve been keeping for more than 15 years!

もう一品は、フランス伝統菓子のマドレーヌです。 講師が15年以上も温めてきたレシピを伝授致します。 可愛らしいシェル型にて焼き上げます。

Here are the class schedules for Basic B class;

DATE:  February 4th (Sat.) 10:00am-1:30pm

               February 10th (Fri.) 2:30pm-6:00pm

               February 19th (Sun.) 10:00am-1:30pm – Full

     FEE:       RM180  RM135/class

If you are interested in joining the class, please contact us by email or sms. We are looking forward to hearing from you!!!

email: caramelmoko@gmail.com

h/p: 012-352-3106

2 Responses to “Fruits Roll cake – February Basic A Class”

  1. Fei February 4, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    Love it! I want to come again!

    • caramelmoko February 6, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

      Oh Fei, thanks for your message! Yeah yeah yeah, please come again!!!

Leave a Reply

