Sponge Cake Recipe*

22 Dec

Strawberry short cake

Hi there!

I see a lot of people having a long weekend! Some are visiting their families and some travelling overseas for Christmas holidays… ohhh sounds fun!

As for me, I am enjoying baking and talking to my students every day. My old students have also been coming by to my shop just to say ‘hi’ to me (aside from coming to classes), and I feel very happy seeing them again! This is the cake I taught yesterday, and the balance became my breakfast this morning with Blue Mountain Blend Coffee. Yum yum!

 

DSC_0831

 

 

So today, I would like to introduce you a simple Sponge Cake Recipe. For details of the steps, please find it in my other post – Tips to Bake a Successful Sponge Cake (I added butter details). I hope some of you get to bake this cake and celebrate your Christmas Day!!! 

 

DSC_0306

 

 

<Genoise Recipe> 18cm/6″ round mold

Egg:                                   3pcs (180g)

All-purpose flour:          90g

Granulated sugar:         90g

Unsalted butter:             25g 

Honey:                                 5g *can be replaced with liquid glucose.

*Preheat the oven to 190 degree C.

*Double boil and melt unsalted butter with honey. Keep to 40-50 degree C.

 

1. In a mixing bowl, combine egg and granulated sugar. Put onto warm water and make it to 40-50 degree C (slightly warmer than your hand). Start whisking with high speed. Change to low speed and whisk for another few minutes.

2. Sift in all-purpose flour in 3 times and gently whisk.

3. Take one scoop of the batter and combine with melted butter and honey. Pour the batter back into the bowl and gently mix using spatula. Mix for about 20-30 times until the texture becomes shiny (butter well mixed in).

4. In a 180 degree C preheated oven, bake for 30-35 minutes. Take out from the oven and cool on a rack upside down.

5. Once its completely cooled down, decorate with whipped cream and strawberry or other fruits!

*The cake can be kept in the fridge with cling wrap for overnight before decoration. It can also be kept in the freezer for 1-2 weeks.

 

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!!

 

Tomoko

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

