BEAM @ Sri Damansara

23 Sep

WP_002232

The other day, I had a chance to visit a cafe called BEAM at Sri Damansara, thanks to my dear student who recommended me of this newly opened shop! It opened in end of July. I wouldn’t have known of this shop otherwise because the coffee and cafe business in Malaysia is expanding vast in the last couple of years. (My student has joined our coffee & macaron master course, by the way. I am glad to be sharing such information with students lately^^…)

WP_002204

As soon as I entered the cafe, I immediately liked this spacious yet cozy ambience. It seemed that this shop lot was a former warehouse, thus the table and chairs were displayed spaciously and had couple of areas in theme. This corner close to the door caught my eye as I entered, and before I even checked their menu I was impressed by how various coffee items and tools they carry for sale. They had the same kettle, coffee filter, syphon machine and others that I have, and they also had some unique coffee tools. I even found two sets of water-dripping machine on the high table (this was of course not for sale).

And then we came to the counter to order our coffee.

WP_002230

Specialty coffee and… Kopi O?

First, I was surprised that they handle Specialty coffee beans here, which is still quite new and difficult to find in Malaysia. Then I was surprised that they also serve the local coffee as well because normally those two do not exist together in the same cafe. But soon after we order our Macchiato and Hand-drip Specialty Coffee (Papua New Guinea bean), the man who made us a hand-drip coffee explained to us all.


WP_002211

It seems like this cafe was built by a coffee wholesale company who has been supplying local and Arabica coffee beans, and now Specialty coffee beans, to cafes and coffee shops in Malaysia since 70’s.

No wonder!

That explains why they have so much knowledge and sources of coffee beans, not only the local beans but also the other kinds. When he mentioned, “We made this cafe to educate people on Speciality coffee beans”, I was clapping hands in my mind(!) because I was just trying to teach my coffee & macaron course graduates what Specialty coffee beans are and how good the tastes are through my Specialty Coffee class.

WP_002205 (1)

He poured the coffee carefully and steadily… very similar to how I make mine, but slower and with more using his whole body.

He gave us a nice and informative talk. Thanks!

WP_002218

Specialty coffee beans are rather limited and hard to get, and in Japan it costs about RM70/200 gram. But now you can get here in Malaysia with around RM28/150gram!

They had various raw beans and a roaster which if we request they will roast for you (it takes about 20-30 minutes) at the shop. Their main roaster factory seem to be just around the corner from this cafe.

WP_002219

Specialty coffee beans are picked carefully so it normally indicates details such as farmer, altitude, the way they dry the beans and the aroma you can taste from each beans. After we carefully looked at the list of beans here, we bought back a packet of Tanzania Specialty coffee beans (Tembo Farm), which was roasted only 2 days ago in their factory.

Tanzania

After we went back home, we straight away made a coffee from this bean. It was really fresh and had a nice fruity flavor…

I really enjoyed the experience there, and although it’s a little bit far from my house, I cannot wait to go back there!

DSC_0794

Thank you for always visiting my blog ^^!

Leave a Reply

