Coffee Beans*

3 Aug

DSC_0826 copy

 

Last weekend I had Coffee & Macaron Making Master Course, day 1. One of my students who was back on holiday from Australia (yes, my students are international ^^*!), has kindly bought me some coffee beans from where she lives – in Melbourne. The shop name is called Seven Seeds and seems to be handling various types of coffee beans / Specialty coffee beans. They roast themselves too!

 

DSC_0832 copy

 

The packaging and the cards that were slipped together explained how much they care about the beans they carry and the passion to transfer their thoughts to consumers. I like that! The one I had was Seven Seeds Espresso Blend, and beans were from Ethiopia Yirgacheffe, Colombia and Brazil. Taste like: Plum, Raspberry, Caramel (according to their notes).

 

IMG-20160802-WA0010

 

During the class, I shared beans that I got from from Jason BSC – Brazil Santos, Ethiopia Yirgacheffe, Kenya AA, Papua New Guinea, Indonesia Mandheling, and Guatemala Antigua. These are more commercial beans and it’s good to compare how different region beans taste differently. Each bean has different characteristics, and you can tell such characters the most when you actually brew them together. We also tasted above Specialty coffee in Hario hand-pouring, although the beans are suited for espresso based drink.

The coffee and cafe culture in Malaysia is expanding in the last couple of years, and I feel that we have more options and luxury to choose our coffee. We are lucky to see this with our eyes, and I hope that the industry will grow more in the future!

 

DSC_0837 copy

 

And I wish to visit Australia Melbourne one day!

Thanks for your sharing ^^.

 

Cheers,

Tomoko

 

 

Leave a Reply

